Bodhisattva Projekt II

A bodhisattva is someone who makes the courageous decision to attain enlightenment for the benefit of all beings. This vow is at the heart of Mahayana Buddhism. But how exactly do you embark on the bodhisattva path, how do you avoid getting lost along the way, and what methods can be used to really achieve the goal of enlightenment? The Bodhisattva Project is a multi-year study course on the foundations, philosophy, and practices of Mahayana Buddhism. This is the second batch within the project. Under the guidance of Do Tulku Rinpoche, we will follow a similar curriculum as the major Buddhist monastic universities (tib. Shédra) and will also devote ourselves to an intensive study of the classical scriptures. Scroll down for more details.

This course is mainly conducted online. In general, there will be about 3 videos of teachings uploaded per month. There is also one live session with Do Tulku Rinpoche every month. The participants are divided into "trainees" and "listeners". Trainees are committing to more intensive studies, various assignments, participation in retreats, and small exams. They are also in closer personal contact with Rinpoche. You can only be a trainee if you participate in the entire program. Listeners, on the other hand, listen to the teachings in a more passive way but are of course also allowed to participate in the retreats and assignments if they wish to. Listeners can also participate in single modules. The retreats take place both online and on-site in our center in Windeck (as soon as this is possible again). This program is designed to accommodate both the longing for intensive studies as well as the busy lifestyle of people in the West. Thus, with a bit of determination and discipline, it is definitely possible to participate while living a worldly life, e.g. having a job and family. The entire course is expected to last about 10 years. The program is structured as follows:

 

1. Module: Foundations (ca. 1 1/2 years)

  • Introduction to Buddhism. This course starts in June 2021. For details see here.

  • The History of Buddhism (starts in August 2021)

  • The Sutra Project 1: We will devote ourselves to the Sutra Project again and again during the entire program to get to know some of the most important discourses of the Buddha 

  • The four philosophical schools of Buddhism 

 

2. Module: Immersion (ca. 6 years)

 

  • Text study and practice: The Ways of a Bodhisattva (Bodhicaryavatara) from Shantideva

  • The Sutra Project 2 

  • Text study and practice: Entering the Middle Way (Madhyamakavatara) by Candrakirti 

  • Text study and practice: The First Eight Chapters of the Four Hundred Verses of Aryadeva

 

3. Module: Buddhist Phenomenology and Epistemology (ca. 2 years)

  • Studies in Buddhist phenomenology (Abhidharma)

  • Introduction to Buddhist epistemology

  • Excerpts from Sakya Pandita's Treasure of Reasonings and Dharmakirti's Commentary on Valid Cognition

 

Course language: Rinpoche teaches in English. The videos are provided with German and Portuguese subtitles. Live sessions are either translated simultaneously or held separately. This is based on the actual needs and interests. Therefore, please indicate when registering if you need a translation so we can plan accordingly.

Fees: The entire course is on a donation basis. This ancient Buddhist tradition only works if everyone participates. In this way, everybody can give what is possible for them according to their individual financial situation. We recommend that long-term students set up a monthly standing order. However, donations are also possible at times of your choice.

To register please click here.

© 2021 BY ARYA TARA'S NET

Bodhisattva Projekt II

Ein Bodhisattva ist jemand, der den mutigen Entschluß fasst, zum Wohle aller Wesen die Erleuchtung zu erlangen. Dieses Gelöbnis bildet das Herzstück des Mahayana-Buddhismus. Doch wie genau begibt man sich auf den Bodhisattva-Pfad, wie vermeidet man, unterwegs in die Irre zu gehen und welche Methoden kann man anwenden, um letztlich das Ziel der Erleuchtung zu erlangen? Das Bodhisattva-Projekt ist ein mehrjähriger Studiengang über die Grundlagen, Philosophie und Praktiken des Mahayana-Buddhismus. Dies ist der zweite Jahrgang innerhalb des Projektes. Unter der Anleitung von Do Tulku Rinpoche folgen wir einem ähnlichen Curriculum wie die großen buddhistischen Klosteruniversitäten und werden uns ebenso einem intensiven Studium der klassischen Schriften widmen. Siehe unten für weitere Details.

Das Studienprogram findet hauptsächlich online statt. Im Allgemeinen werden ca. 3 Videos im Monat mit Unterweisungen hochgeladen. Zudem findet eine Live-Sitzung mit Do Tulku Rinpoche pro Monat statt. Die Teilnehmer werden in "Trainees" und "Listeners" eingenteilt. Trainees verpflichten sich zu einem intensiveren Studium, verschiedenen Aufgaben sowie der Teilnahme an Retreats und Prüfungen. Zudem stehen sie in einem engeren Austausch mit Rinpoche. Es ist nur möglich, Trainee zu werden wenn man am ganzen Studienprigramm teilnimmt. Listener hingegen hören den Unterweisungen auf eher passive Weise zu, dürfen aber natürlich auch an den Retreats und Aufgaben teilnehmen, wenn sie möchten. Listener können auch nur an einzelnen Modulen teilnehmen. Die Retreats finden sowohl online als auch vor Ort in unserem Zentrum in Windeck statt (sobald dies wieder möglich ist). Der Aufbau und das Tempo dieses Kurses berücksichtigen sowohl den Wunsch nach intensiven Studien als auch den geschäftigen Lebensstil der Menschen im Westen. Mit etwas Entschlossenheit und Disziplin ist es definitiv möglich, an diesem Studium teilzunehmen, während man ein normales weltliches Leben, z.B. mit Job und Familie, führt. Der gesamte Kurs wird voraussichtlich ca. 10 Jahre dauern. Das Studium ist folgendermaßen aufgebaut:

1. Modul: Grundlagen (ca. 1 1/2 Jahre)

  • Einführung in den Buddhismus (1. Monat). Dieser Kurs beginnt im Juni 2021. Für Details siehe hier.

  • Die Geschichte des Buddhismus (ab August 2021)

  • Das Sūtra-Projekt 1: Wir werden uns dem Sūtra-Projekt im Verlaufe des Studiums nach vorheriger Ankündigung immer wieder widmen und einige der wichtigsten Lehrreden des Buddha kennenlernen 

  • Die vier philosophischen Schulen des Buddhismus 

2. Modul: Vertiefung (ca. 6 Jahre)

  • Textstudium und Praxis: Eintritt in den Weg eines Bodhisattva (Bodhicaryāvatāra) von Shantideva

  • Das Sūtra-Projekt 2 

  • Textstudium und Praxis: Eintritt in den mittleren Weg (Madhyamakāvatāra) von Candrakirti 

  • Textstudium und Praxis: Die ersten acht Kapitel der Vierhundert Verse von Aryadeva  

3. Modul: Buddhistische Erkenntnistheorie (ca. 2 Jahre)

  • Einführung in die buddhistische Logik 

  • Auszüge aus Sakya Panditas Schatz der logischen Argumentation und Dharmakirtis Kommentar zur gültigen Wahrnehmung 

Kurssprache: Rinpoche unterrichtet auf Englisch. Die Videos werden mit deutschen Untertiteln versehen und Live-Sitzungen entweder simultan übersetzt oder seperat abgehalten. Dies richtet sich nach dem tatsächlichen Bedarf und Interesse richtet. Gib daher bitte bei der Anmeldung unbedingt an, wenn du eine deutsche Übersetzung benötigst. Dann können wir entsprechend planen. 

Gebühren: Das gesamte Studium ist auf Spendenbasis. Diese alte buddhistische Tradition funktioniert nur, wenn sich alle auf ehrliche Weise daran beteiligen. So können alle Teilnehmer das geben, was ihnen in ihrer individuellen finanziellen Situation möglich ist. Den langjährigen Studenten empfehlen wir, einen monatlichen Dauerauftrag einzurichten. Es sind allerdings auch Spenden zu selbst gewählten Zeitpunkten möglich. 

Zur Anmeldung klicke bitte hier.